The first meeting the Library Association held was at the home of Mrs. Grant Gruel, 8 Ivy Lane on Thursday, May 19, 1960 at 6:00 P.M. Joseph Gerace was appointed the temporary chairman and Mrs. J. Parker Swanson was the temporary secretary.

There shall be four officers elected annually: President, Vice President, Secretary, and Treasurer. The following officers were elected by unanimous ballot:

President: Mrs. Donald Braley

Vice President: Mrs. J. Parker Swanson

Secretary: Mrs. Robert F. Post Treasurer: Mrs. Marvin Siegel

The following names were proposed:

Lakewood Area Library Association Lakewood - Busti Library Association Chautaugua Area Association

The name Lakewood - Busti Library Association was approved by a vote of 18 in favor.

The following by-laws were approved:

- 1. This association is formed to form a public library.
- 2. The annual meeting is to be held the third Thursday in May.
- 3. The association is to operate on a fiscal year basis to April 1st.
- 4. The ordinary functions of the four named officers were defined.
- 5. By-laws are ammended by a majority vote upon a two week's notice.
- 6. Special meetings called on a five day notice unless by-laws are amended.
- 7. A quorum shall consist of a majority or 25 whichever is the least.
- 8. Membership shall include charter members, members of association any who pay dues as established by Association.
- 9. Any member shall be considered a charter member until September 1, 1960.
- 10. Names added to rolls by any officer to become member.

- 11. Notify Village Hall two weeks in advance to obtain Hall for Annual meeting to be held there.
- 12. Notice of Annual Meeting shall be by newspaper, mail, telephone at least five days before

It was moved by Phylis Siegel and seconded by Rosamund Braley that any change to the proposed by-laws if not approved as stated my be made. This was carried.

Peg Gruel made a motion that the by-laws be adopted. This was seconded by Nancy Swanson, and carried.

A plan is to be presented by the Board of Trustees to the Association concerning the establishment of a budget.

It was resolved by Mrs. Lucy Peake to establish a Library in the Town of Busti, Village of Lakewood. Seconded by William Gibson and carried.

It was resolved by Marian Turcotte and seconded by Lois Hough that the number of trustees shall be 11. Carried.

Lois Hough moved that the four officers become Trustees. This was seconded by Marian Turcotte and carried.

The following Trustees were elected by unanimous ballot:

Mrs. Lucy Peake

Mrs. Kenneth Robinson

Mrs. Robert Turnbull

Joseph La John

Plummer Printz

Cyril Hough

William Gibson

The following were in attendance:

Joseph Gerace Charles Simpson

Mrs. Mildred Beck Mrs. Marvin Peterson

Joseph LaJohn William Gibson

Plummer Printz Warren Ross

Mrs. Lee Cook Nels Carlson

Mrs. Robert Turnbull Mrs. Donald Braley
Mrs. Robert F. Post Mrs. Joseph Ramsey

Mrs. J. Parker Swanson Mrs. George Goodell

Mrs. Marvin Siegel Mrs. Kenneth Robinson

Mrs. Norman Turcotte Mrs. Jack VanderMolen Mrs. Lucy Peake

Mrs. Robert Wright Mrs. Lydell Hough Roscoe Clark

Cyril Hough

Those contacted and desiring to be charter members and unable to attend were:

> Mrs. Arthur E. Kettle Mrs. Walter Gunkler

Mrs. Ralph Taylor, Jr.

E. Robert Bootey Mrs. Morris Bowman

Mrs. George Blackstone Mr. George Chiverton Julian Naetzger

Miss Beatrice Eckberg